Day Three: Iceland Airwaves, A Trip To Remember

My last full day in Iceland began with a trip to the Blue Lagoon.  My friends and I got on the bus from the hotel, and it took about 45 minutes to get the lagoon.  Once we got there, we had to wait in a long line outside to get into the lagoon.  I wasn’t expecting to be outside for long, so this was the only time I didn’t wear my heavy winter coat.  That was a bad decision.  After being outside for some time, I started to feel pretty cold.  On top of that, while we were waiting in line it started to hail these little round bee bees of ice.  It hurt!  However, it was all worth it because what was in store for us behind those doors was spectacular.  As soon as I got in, I went straight to the locker room and then into the lagoon.  I have never experienced anything quite like it before.  There were some spots in the lagoon that were much hotter than others.  Every time I came across those hot pockets, it was a pleasant surprise.  The Blue Lagoon did something to me that made me feel extremely relaxed and tranquil.  On that bus ride back to the hotel, I was in such a peaceful state of mind.

Later in the evening, I went to the Harpa venue to see Ólafur Arnalds once again. After his performance I stayed for the next band, and I’m very glad I did.  The name of the band is Treefight For Sunlight.  According to allmusic.com, the Treefight For Sunlight band is from Copenhagen, Denmark, where “childhood friends Mathias Sørensen (drums, vocals), Morten Winther Nielsen (guitar, vocals), Christian Rohde Lindinger (bass, vocals), and Niels Kirk (piano, vocals) formed sunshine pop outfit Treefight for Sunlight in 2007.  The four-piece blends together a rich mixture of lush vocals and twinkling hooks, resulting in a modern baroque pop reincarnation. Amassing no less than three vocalists, the band manages to whip each song into an ecstatic crescendo of jubilation, while at times mirrored MGMT in its almost psychedelic tendencies.  The influences of late-’60s California outfits the Association and the Turtles can be found in the layered harmonies and intrinsic melodies nestling within Treefight for Sunlight’s sunny disposition.”- Allmusic.com

I was completely blown away by the sound of their music.  It was very catchy and easy to dance to.  Personally, I think if a band can do those two things, then that is what classifies them as a great band.  Overall, they were one of the best bands that I have seen at the Iceland Airwaves Festival.

This trip is something that I will remember for the rest of my life.  The people in Iceland are so incredibly nice.  On numerous occasions, when I asked for directions they took the time to explain to me where to go.  In this country, everyone is so much more relaxed.  They really know how to enjoy life.  If the rest of the world were more like Iceland, we would be much better off.  

Leave a Reply

