Iceland Airwaves Day Five: Fontana, Our Last Night, RetRoBot (11/3)

Writing this Iceland Airwaves post is a little sad.  This will be the
last blog I post while I’m in Iceland.  Plenty of work was started on
the separate pieces we are all focusing on at the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Marina.  Once work was done it was time for more sight seeing and relaxation.

20131104-150136.jpg

We took an Iceland Excursions tour bus and headed to the Laugarvatn Fontana Spa.  I truly wish we had those geo thermal pools back home.  I know I would be as friendly as the Icelanders if I had these swimming pools too.  Starting and ending our trip with a stop at the pools was a great way to tie it all together.

20131105-130935.jpg

Rested and relaxed, we headed out for the last night of Iceland
Airwaves.  This country of a fairly small population really knows how
to have a great time. The act covered tonight goes by the name
Retrobot.  They played at Harlem.  RetRoBot was a true crowd pleaser.  They kept the crowd dancing with their mixture of electronic music and funky guitar rifts.  This band has powerful vocals and beautiful harmonies. Listen below to hear their song Insomnia.

I’ve made some good friends on this trip, which I hope to keep in touch with for years to come.  One of the many things that amaze me about Iceland is its vast variety of music. There’s a plethora of talent in this country.  It’s beauty, atmosphere, and friendly folk will be absolutely missed.  The word Takk means thank you in Icelandic.  So Takk Iceland, for all the fun memories I will forever remember.  I’ll be back one day.

Make sure to follow me on Twitter and Instagram: @danomalone

Leave a Reply

