I wrote down my goals down and you should too

They say it’s important to write your goals down.  I don’t know goals-list-286x300exactly who they are, but I’m going to take their advice especially since graduation is right around the corner. Writing down your goals is the first step towards achieving them so here is my wish list.

1)        Morning Radio Show Host: When I was a little kid, my dad would listen to B96 every morning while he drove me to school. Eddie and Jobo were the morning jocks on 96.3FM and they always knew how to make me laugh. Whether it was the wacky games and pranks they’d play or the silly voices they’d do, listening to B96 in the morning became my favorite part of the day. I found that the days where I didn’t get to listen in, were also the days where I wasn’t a positive person. I pretty much knew since then that eventually I was going to grow up and do the same for some other little kid.

2)       Stand-up Comedian: Again, this has been a dream of mine since I was a young boy. I’m almost positive that the first comedy special I ever saw was Eddie Murphy’s Raw. I must have been 8 or 9 when my older sisters turned it on, but it didn’t take long to see that this form of entertainment was the most honest and visceral. It was indeed raw. Flash forward to 6th grade. I was one of those lucky kids (or unlucky kids depending on how you look at it) that had a TV with a cable connection in their bedroom. On one particular school night, at around 2am, I saw George Carlin for the first time. Obviously, most of his subject matter flew right over my head, but I definitely understood more of the jokes than when I saw Raw. Since then I’ve seen EVERY one of Carlin’s HBO specials. In my opinion, he is the greatest of all time and I’d be satisfied with 1/1,000,000th of his success.

3)      Voice Actor: Like most kids, I loved to watch animated television shows. Parents of the 90’s loved to get a break from their little ones by plopping them down in front of some Looney Tunes or Animaniac episode for a few minutes of peace.  My mother who wasn’t born in this country, didn’t know that The Simpsons was really a show for mature audiences. Similarly with stand-up, a lot of the jokes aren’t crafted for viewers of my age group, but still, I fell in love with the characters. When I was 18, I checked out every season of the Simpsons that was available at the library and I binge watched every single episode. I fell in love with the program all over again. I wanted to learn more about the show and about the  characters which ultimately led me to the voice actors that brought the animated characters to life. I was shocked when I saw that most of my favorite characters were voiced by one man. Hank Azaria is responsible for the voices of Moe, Apu, Chief Wiggum, Comic Book Guy and so many more, including HUNDREDS of non-reoccurring characters. I couldn’t believe that one man could have so much range with his voice. This inspired me to start playing around with my voice and I haven’t stopped since.

 

Feel free to use this list against me in a few years to make sure I’m on track. Actually, I think I’d prefer it  if you did just that. I’ll be more than happy to do the same for you after you compile your own list.   For those of you who are graduating…Congratulations.

 

 

Leave a Reply

