Iceland Airwaves Day Six (11/10): Looking Back (Reflection)

It’s insane looking back on everything that has happened in the past week here in Reykjavík. It’s crazy to think that this whole adventure started out as ten college students and our teacher in a classroom, excited that we got in the class, but also a little bit terrified as to what was going to happen next. This Covering International Festivals: Iceland class has been an amazing experience, even though it’s not  completely done yet.

Ericka, Jessica Braun and Dan hanging out before a show
Ericka, Jessica Braun and Dan hanging out before a show

Our last day was the most productive we’ve had, which is saying a lot, because we’ve had some pretty productive days. We got to sleep in a little bit (I’m pretty sure it’s the first time I’ve gotten more than four hours of sleep in a night for the entire week) and we met up to work on our final pieces and the class documentary. A lot of great work was done, so you’re definitely going to want to make sure you stick around to find out all of the juicy details as to what we’ve been working on all semester. More to come soon. And let me tell you, it’s going to be great.

Play hard, work harder
Play hard, work harder

This class has taught me so much more beyond what the sylabus says. I’ve learned about international travel, and how to deal with jetlag. I’ve learned how to thrive on minimal sleep, minimal nutrition, and still meet all of my deadlines. I’ve learned how to power through the feeling like I won’t be able to get anything done for the day, and how I can make the most of every situation. I’ve learned how to review bands, and keep up a decent blog. I’ve learned how to be the absolute youngest person in a group, and still feel like a part of something. I’ve gotten better at communication, and I’ve been enlightened a little bit along the way, too.

JG and Dominick sliding on ice during the Golden Circle tour
JG and Dominick sliding on ice during the Golden Circle tour

This class somehow has given me nine new close friends, and I’ll forever be grateful for that. It’s going to be hard going through the next two years of college not having the opportunity to come back to Iceland and experience all of this again as a school assignment.  I’m not looking forward to the pangs of jealousy that are certainly going to arise. But, it’s a great experience for anyone who is relatively intersted in this type of work. Being the type of person who dreams of doing public radio for the rest of my life, this class is something that is going to help me attain those goals that I can’t help but think about every day.

IMG_0984
Press pass for the festival

Basically, not only have I had an absolute blast being in Reykjavík, Iceland covering Iceland Airwaves music festival, but I’ve been fortunate enough to have a blast while learning so many new things. I’m excited for the oppotunites I still have in the few weeks we have left in this class, and although I’m nervous as to what’s left for me at home, at least I’ve got an awesome week full of unforgetable memories to get me through the rest of the hard times. Like Iceland itself; it’s the land of fire and ice.

 

Erika soaking in Iceland's beauty
Erika soaking in Iceland’s beauty
Leave a Reply

