Iceland Airwaves Day 6 (11/10): Reflection

Sitting here in the lobby of Fosshotel Baron, checked out and bags packed, it’s hard for me to take in the full scope of this trip. So much happened in just 7 short days, which in reality were some of the longest of my life, averaging about 3 solid hours of sleep each night. I don’t even know where to begin.

I don’t think I’ll ever forget waking up everyday and looking out my window to see the beautiful snow covered peaks of Mount Esja across the bay. I hope I’ll never lose the great nights out and the amazing feeling of being  able to cut a line that stretched around the block, all due to some silly blue wristband with the word “press” printed on it. But the one thing I know will stay with me forever are the amazing people I was so lucky to share this experience with.

Whether it was swimming around the Blue Lagoon or walking down Laugavegur to grab a late night hotdog, the friends that I’ve made on this trip have been there every step of the way. Sure, we had some bad moments along the way, where sleep deprivation and anxiety got the better of us, but at the end of the day the high points, the good times, the things that we’ll never, ever forget eclipse all of that. I hope that one day I’ll be able to walk the streets of Reykjavik again, though it’ll never be quite the same, but for now, all I have to say is peace out Iceland Airwaves 2014, it’s been one hell of a time.

Leave a Reply

