My thoughts on Insidious: Chapter 3

Poster

By Krista-Nia Williams

Today, I decided to sit down and watch the third installation of Insidious. Since I loved the first Insidious film, and didn’t mind the sequel, I figured it would be great to see which direction the third movie might go.

First things.  this is the third film, and it is titled as “Chapter 3” but it is a prequel to the first film, so the timeline is a little non sequitur.

While watching this film I found myself constantly comparing it to the first Insidious film, and I must say that there is no comparison.  Insidious was so good that I made all my friends watch it and they agreed, it was the first horror film in years that was interesting and it wasn’t just a teeny-bopper thriller that relied on jump scares. When it comes to the sequel, though, I, honestly, could not tell you one thing I remember about the film other than the fact that it wasn’t terrible.  But this is a review of Insidious: Chapter 3 not the first two movies so I’ll get to it.

The story is about a teenage girl whose home life with her father and brother is hectic due to the fact that her mother has recently passed away. All that we really know is that she has attempted to contact her mother on her own and a psychic woman warns her against ever doing it again. We don’t really get a feel for the main character before she is in an extremely horrible accident, which only adds to the already long list of things that have gone wrong for this girl.

Well, as anyone could have guessed, it only gets worse because it’s a horror movie and when things go wrong, they go HORRIBLY wrong. A very powerful force has attached itself to the teen and her family desperately tries to figure out what is going on until paranormal investigators and the psychic woman come and save the day. The film ends with the family being safe and they finally make contact with mom and everything is okay.

After the family is debriefed, the psychic woman and the paranormal investigators realize they make a pretty good team.
null

I should add that I was a bit confused about the appearance of the psychic and the paranormal investigators because we were introduced to them back in the first Insidious.   While this was not a horrible movie it could have served as a flashback in the first or second installment. Going back to what I said about jump scares, there were a few in this movie but they were corny and predictable, and no way were they scary.

You can stream Insidious and Insidious: Chapter 2 instantly by clicking on these hyper links.

Listen to Krista-Nia Williams on WCRX 88.1 FM and WCRX.com every Friday 11am-3pm