3eb

Semi Charmed Kind Of Life

By Justin Leoni

I have always considered myself to be a 90’s alternative junkie. I find myself listening to more music of that genre than anything else.  Out of all of my favorite bands from that golden era of music, I have always had an obsession with Third Eye Blind. From the lyrics, to the guitar riffs I have always found the music to coincide with many things that have occurred in my life.   After years of listening I was finally able to see the band perform live last summer at the Old St Pat’s World’s Largest Block Party in Chicago. Needless to say after one show, my fascination with Third Eye Blind grew larger & larger.

In January it was announced that the band would be returning to Chicago, with Dashboard Confessional as the opening act. To my excitement the venue was First Merit Bank Pavilion at Northerly Island. I was able to see OAR a few years back at Northerly Island, and was blown away by the amazing view of the Chicago skyline. I purchased floor seats, and anxiously awaited June 26th.

The big day had finally arrived, and to my dismay the forecast called for a 100% chance of rain until the wee hours of the morning. Luckily the show was rain or shine, and certainly a little rain would never stop me from attending a concert or sporting event. Dressed in a black poncho that resembled a garbage bag, four friends and I prepared to rough it until Third Eye Blind took the stage. The rain never subsided, and my belief in weather people’s predictions grew just a little bit (not too much).

Third Eye Blind went on stage around 9:30 PM, and played until just after 11:00 which did not seem like enough even after two encore songs. The band is currently promoting a new album Dopamine, which is a totally different sound from which they gained popularity in the late 90’s. The band however knew that the crowd wanted to hear the classics, that many of us grew up with and still sing along with today. Classics like “Semi Charmed Life”, “Never Let You Go”, “Motorcycle Driveby”, and “How’s It Going to Be”,  were all played in their entirety. I left the concert with a raspy voice from singing, and the affirmation that Third Eye Blind still holds a special place in my heart. I recommend that anyone who hasn’t heard or seen this band to check them out the next time they stop in town.

 “I want something else, to get me through this
Semi-charmed kinda life, baby, baby” – 3eb

Twitter: Houstlantaswang

Instagram: Jtleoni_99

WCRX 3-7 PM Tuesday’s