Avril Lavigne in 2017

By Kimmy Spoons

Lets travel back through time, back to the the 1990’s when we pre-teens were going through puberty.  I remember that time of my life  when I thought it was cool to have my bangs completely blocking my vision and my musical tastes ranged form “scene” to “pop-punk” and I used music to express how “emotional” I felt.  I distinctly remember Avril Lavigne.   I can STILL belt out her songs without ever missing a beat. I think the last time anything by her was really big was back in 2007 with her single “Girlfriend” hitting the Billboard Hot 100 as a No. 1 single.

Although many may still associate Lavigne with the pop-punk from the early 00’s, its been 10 years since her biggest hit but do I have some good news for Avril Lavigne fans..

She’s coming out with new music!

Now that she has signed with a new record label,  Avril Lavigne plans to release a new album before the end of this year.  The release of some new music doesn’t mean that she’ll be returning to the scene with  her old look of pink hair and heavy black eyeliner.

Lavigne has made some changes in her song writing through the years.   She says in a Billboard article that she is “going back to her roots a bit” when she started in churches, and county fairs.  But she says that she did challenge herself as a songwriter and wanted to write about topics she hadn’t hit on before. While Lavigne says that she’s experienced a lot over the years, instead of the typical love songs, she has written a lot of songs that are generally just about life.

While Avril Lavigne’s music is a lot different than it was in the past,  I know that I cannot pass up listening to something made by this woman who rocked the early 00’s punk scene. Even though no music is available from the still-untitled record yet, we can at least prepare ourselves for this upcoming release.

Tune in for more “Alternative Scoop” Thursdays from 7-9 pm with Kimmy Spoons on 88.1 WCRX.

Leave a Reply

